Awards for Excellence in Concrete

This vision of the Concrete Institute of Australia is “excellence in concrete”. We look to achieve this through the promotion and development of excellence in concrete research, technology, application, design and construction. One important way we do this is by showcasing excellence in concrete in this country via the Institute’s Awards for Excellence in Concrete program, which is held every two years to coincide with the pinnacle of our activities, the Biennial Conference.

Concrete PhD Research Award

The Concrete PhD Research Award (formerly known as the National Engineering Bursary) is made to post graduate students studying engineering, chemistry, materials science, building science and other relevant subjects which contribute to the research knowledge base of concrete in Australia and is awarded for excellence in thesis work on concrete and cement based products and processes. The award consists of a cash prize of $2,500 and registration to participate in the Concrete Institute of Australia’s Biennial Conference.

National Presidents

The Concrete Institute of Australia has been built by the hard work of our many volunteers since 1969 and the election of our first National President, Mr William Brown. We would like to acknowledge the hard work and dedication that the 29 Past Presidents have made to our organisation.

Honorary & Life Members

An Honorary Membership is awarded to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the development and use of concrete in Australia and a Life Membership is awarded to a person who has given long and other meritorious service to the Concrete Institute of Australia. The granting of these Awards is carefully considered and the Awards are highly regarded.